J & J: Souls Knit Together

It’s an amazing feeling to be in love. (insert smiley with hearts as eyes emoticon here) It’s fun to be in the complexities of this feeling as they get tougher and harder when every second accumulates.

It’s fun but it’s never a game. One doesn’t throw the white flag down whenever the other feels like giving up.

It’s a discovery. A discovery of the partners’ compatibility, of their weakness, their strengths, their fears,their doubts, their level of jealousies, their level of patience, the measure of their adoration and affection to one another. It’s a discovery of how the writer of the love story can make the couple’s worlds turn upside down. It’s a discovery of one’s self while discovering the other and their would-be life together.

Coming from a 3 years, 5 months and 18 days of relationship, I never expected that I would be in a relationship in quite a short time after the break up. But I beg to disagree with the statement that the one who easily engaged in a relationship after ending the other has not loved the past relationship at all. (insert “I’m not defensive” look here)
I could say that I easily moved on because I know that when God takes away something (someone) He would give me another one way better than I could imagine.

The meeting started at Ninoy Aquino International Airport Terminal 3 (photo credits to the owner) on the 26th of April 2015. (It’s not the beginning of the love story though)

naia terminal 3
He was with his mom when he saw  me first right there and then as I was waiting for them.

WP_20150426_17_00_14_Pro
(from the left: Him, his mom Ninang Vangie, my mom and my auntie)

He assisted me well in the airport with all its flight protocols since it was my first time until we board the flight TG 622294 of Thai Airways and finally reached Suvarnabhumi Airport in Thailand almost 3 hours later.

He’s tall, not too dark, handsome in his own ways and terms. (He’ll give me more mangoes because of this) Lol. But the most important thing is he’s a Christian.635867744576227031 (3)

The love story began on the 12th of November of the same year. We didn’t expect it will come to us that early since we don’t adore each other before that. (I speak for myself)

It just fell on to us in the right place at the right time. We struggled at first  for a reason bounded by culture and the uncontrollable misconceptions to be made by many people around us. Wanting not to be at the center of any negative speculations, our relationship stayed private with only our families knowing about it.
Until last month when the blessing from our parents was given to let the interested public know about ‘us’.

A big sigh of relief. However, it’s much sweeter when the feeling stayed steadfast after a storm.

InstagramCapture_b6f66ebc-cd6f-4cd8-af3e-a52cdd3eaa1a

635844320770793318

And so here come the months of getting to know his likes & dislikes, his own kind of mood swings, his hobbies which are basketball, basketball and another basketball. Lol He’s my MVP for that matter. Knowing almost every detail of his personality, I told myself, a found the male version of myself. Yes! A incarnated male version of myself!

This realization made easy things a lot easier since we know that our own selves with almost the same likes (except for a sour mango which I always crave for) and dislikes are just standing in front of us sharing the same affection and devotion.

One of the things I like the most in our relationship is that we don’t quarrel. Mainly because it’s not in our personalities. Our conflict which does not count as one because it doesn’t last more than 5 minutes is  rooted on the I-don’t-wanna-lose-you bittersweet idea. Jealousy with insecurities would always come around but with the assurance of this love story is written by God, the jealousy just made our relationship a lot stronger.

The thing I love the most with this relationship is how this made us worship our Creator together. He would play the musical instruments and I’ll sing. There goes the flow of our adoration to the Heavenly One who had caused this love to fall upon us. Every time we worship together, I would always remember my mom as she said before that she wants a man who fears and worship the Lord. Well, she’s too close to God that God made her prayers come true by bringing me to Thailand.

Plans about our future are being talked about. However, we don’t rush things. We just allow the Author of this love story to continuously make the twists and turn of events happen as He will. Nothing is better than His perfect untarnished plan for us.

After ending the past relationship I had, I don’t regret the decision I made. I just made the things fall in its proper places.

And this one is for a lifetime. This we pray. 

635927610843011782 (2)

To love and be loved is the most wonderful feeling of all. So I say, never be afraid to fall in love again for love knows second chances.

 


Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.  ~ 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

 

 

2 thoughts on “J & J: Souls Knit Together

Leave a Reply

