Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

Have you ever experienced being belittled?

Have  you ever been overwhelmed by the imperfections you have?

At some point in my life, I’ve been in this situation.

I grew up building my own Eiffel Tower of Self Confidence. I was one of those who were teased by many people due to some noticeable physical imperfections (in human terms) that I carry from childhood to adulthood. As beauty is in the eye of the beholder, it’s really difficult to match with the varying levels of beauty the world has.

One common fable which really made a huge impact on me, the moment I heard it, is the story of the eaglet who was forced to believe that he was a duck (not demeaning the capabilities of ducks though).

Once, an eagle egg was accidentally mixed up with duck eggs. Even until it was hatched, the mother duck believed that it’s one of her babies. The eaglet grew up together with its made-to-believe siblings, the ducklings. Having the same features such as two legs, two wings, a beak and feathers, the eaglet was enclosed in a belief that he is an ordinary duck which cannot soar high above the clouds. One day, they went to a nearby pond for their usual day-to-day routine. While they were standing by the coast, flocks of full-grown eagles flew by spreading and flapping their strong wings with might. The little eaglet saw them and admire the sight in that instant. He felt a leap in his heart telling him that he could be like them. He told his siblings that he wanted to be like those eagles. However, they dumped his thoughts and discouraged him believing that they are only ducks. Ducks don’t fly in that same heights. Day by day, as they went to the pond to do their daily routine, same flocks of eagles would soar up high and the eaglet would only wish that he could be like them. Yet, it only remained as a desire because he was imprisoned by the thought of “I am only an ordinary duck.”

I don’t want to lose the chance to spread my wings and learn how to fly; to do what it takes ’til I touch the sky.. (these lines sound familiar) unlike that eaglet.

So I climbed out of the walls of “You’re not that beautiful” and ended up on the top of my tower of “I m confidently beautiful with my very humble nose, with my not-so-long legs and with a heart for the LORD.”

However, we don’t need to burden ourselves with the thought of beautifying ourselves to please others’ picky eyes; remember, the Great Creator made us beautifully and wonderfully in His sight.

 

signature


Psalm 139:14  I praise You because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full                                 well.
Song of Songs 4:7     You are altogether beautiful, my darling; there is no flaw in you.

 

Leave a Reply

