This Season

Yes, it is this time of the year when carollers with their jingle sticks sing yuletide songs in sequence from this house to that; when public vehicles and public establishments turn on their stereos and start their playlist airing from Rudolph the red-nose reindeer to We wish you a merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and to another; when flickering or steady or dancing lights are hanging on the windows, doors, roofs, walls, bushes, trees, light posts, waiting sheds, street walls, just anywhere in everywhere; name it and they have it!; when knitted coats, thick sweaters, wool jackets, long socks and heavy-duty mittens are on sale; when moms and dads would busy themselves panic buy goods and presents for their kids and friends; when… when I find myself on the lap of my dad as we wait for the “adobo” (a famous Filipino pork dish) cooked passionately by mom to partner with our plain white rice and we’ll pray. Then it’s 12 in the midnight, the clock tells us it’s CHRISTMAS DAY!

I’ve been away from my home country for 18 months as an expat and this gave me two Christmas seasons to be celebrated miles away from home – away from the common scenario I usually experienced during this same time of the year.

Nevertheless, the Good Creator just made my second Christmas here in Bangkok, Thailand extra special, but of course, I still long to be with my mom and dad in the Philippines only if I could teleport! How I wish! 😛

Celebrating this year’s Christmas with my friends here in BKK is also one of its kind! Why not? ^^

I think what matters most this season is the condition of everyone’s hearts as we share our joy of partaking the delicately garnished and deliciously prepared food, our genuine smiles and especially our lives as we exchange stories of our past, present and what we hope in the future. I wish that all of us would find that joy which we long to feel and the love we long to feel.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!  MERRY CHRISTMAS! 

signature


Isaiah 9:6 
For to us a child is born, to us a son is given and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

 

One thought on “This Season

Leave a Reply

